Artists > Yarkin


Founded in 1994 by Fahrettin and Ferruh Yarkin, the "Yarkin - Turkish Percussion and Rhythm Group" strives to introduce the phenomenon of rhythm, which has for centuries held a central place in Turkish music, in a performance style suitable to today's reality. Based on the thought that Far Eastern, Latin American and Indian musical genres have become popular because of the rich use of rhythmic patterns and instruments as well as their melodic richness, they continue their work to gain Turkish rhythms and rhythm instruments their rightful place both at home and abroad.

Fahrettin Yarkin was born in Istanbul in 1960. After finishing high school, he entered the Istanbul Technical University State Turkish Music Conservatory and graduated in 1983. During this period, in 1981, he began performing as a percussionist at Turkish Radio, where he remains today. He has been invited to give concerts, seminars and lessons in Japan, North Africa, the Middle East and Europe.

Ferruh Yarkin was born in Istanbul in 1964. After high school, he entered the Istanbul Technical University State Turkish Music Conservatory and graduated in 1986. In 1988 he became part of the Istanbul State Turkish Music Ensemble of the Ministry of Culture. A member of the teaching faculty at the ITU State Turkish Music Conservatory, he has been involved in various projects with the Rhythm Group since 1990. In addition to his recordings, he has given concerts in several European countries.

Related Albums

Aruna Sayeeram

Begum Akhtar

Benoy K. Behl

Chitra Visweswaran

Dr Padma Subramaniam

Dr. M Balamurlikrishnan

Durga Lal

Gangubai Hangal

Girish Karnad

Gopi Krishna


Hari Prasad Chaurasia

Harishankar Parsai

Kadri Gopalnath

Kelu Charan Mahapatra

Kiran Sehgal

Kum Kum Mohanty

Kunal Ganjawala

Kundan Shah

Kunnakudi Vaidhyanathan

Lachhu Maharaj

Lakshmi Vishwanathan

Leela Venkataraman

M. L. Vasanthakumari

M. S. Subbulakshmi

Madhavi Mudgal

Mallikarjun Mansoor

Mani Krishnaswamy

Manna Dey

Meeta Pandit

Munshi Premchand

Nikhil Banerjee

Pandit Bhimsen Joshi

Pandit Birju Maharaj

Pandit Jasraj

Pt. Kishan Maharaj

Pt. Krishnarao Shankar Pandit

Pt. Laxman Krishnarao Pandit

Pt. Maniram

Pt. Samta Prasad

Radha and Raja Reddy

Sabri Brothers

Sanjukta Panigrahi

Sheikh Chinnamaulana

Shyam Benegal

Sitara Devi

Sonal Mansingh

Sudha Raghunathan

Sudharani Raghupati

T. N Krishnan

Udit Narayan

Uma Sharma

Ustad Ahmed Jan Thirakwa

Ustad Amjad Ali Khan

Ustad Asad Ali Khan

Ustad Bismillah Khan

Wadali Brothers